A: Completing and submitting an assessment does not mean the assessment has been published to students. Whether or not students instantly receive completed assessments depends on the Assessment Method setting located on the Assignment Details page. You are able to change the Publish Grades setting under Assessment Method on the Assignment Details page at any time during the assessment process.

When creating a course assignment, the Publish Grades checkbox is selected by default under the Assessment Method setting on the Assignment Details page. This setting allows a student to receive the assessment results instantly after an assessor completes and submits the assessment. You are able to uncheck the Publish Grades setting on the Assignment Details page so that assessment results are not released to students until all students in the class are assessed (i.e., all are in the Completed green column). Once all students in the class are assessed, the Publish Grades button on the Submissions & Grades tab is enabled to release all of the assessment results at once.

Publish Grades to Students Instantly (Default)

  1. The Publish Grades checkbox on the Assignment Details page is selected by default under the Assessment Method setting.
  2. Once you finish assessing the student's work, click the Submit Assessment button to release the assessment results to the student.



Publish Grades to All Students at Once

  1. Uncheck the Publish Grades checkbox on the Assignment Details page.
  2. All students in the class must be assessed in order to release the assessment results (i.e., all are in the Completed green column).
  3. Once all students in the class have been assessed, the Publish Grades button will be enabled. Click the Publish Grades button to release all assessment results at once to students.